Keeping it Country

Mice

“Once words are written down, they have a life of their own.” Carol Burnett.

Getting Our Bearings

Wow, but time flies….. even for two relatively idle people.  Nearly three months since my last letter.  The only difference in how we do things is the pace these days, which used to worry me six months ago.  But I have developed this “extreme patience” gene which sadly, I don’t think can be downloaded in App form.  The new speed has finally embedded itself in me.

But the slow pace of life that we lead in Bough does not reflect the busy fields around us.   A farmers’ work is never done and their vehicles are out before dawn and work till the light is gone some nights. On our little corner we see it all.  But for me, not having ever wanted to live in the country, it all goes over my head. Phil loves it!

Sheep- Lamb.jpg

Horses for neighbours on one side and we had sheep for a brief two and a half weeks too. Today Phil had a front row seat to watch the local farmer on his tractor cleaning up the field in the valley and planting.

Tractor Field.jpg

 Lost not Found

The Easter egg hunt for my grandsons was scheduled to take place at our house this year, because the boys had a sleep over at ours on that Saturday night; the Easter bunny would know that they weren’t at home that night, wouldn’t he?

(It must be twenty- eight years since I was last employed to do the ‘bunny’s job’ in a garden!) But seemingly my skills were excellent, so good that one poor little chocolate bunny has never been found to this day! And because of short term memory loss (ha ha) will probably be there till next year now!

Keeping busy

I am a home bird really so “wherever I lay my hat that’s my home”! There is always a project going on in my life, some that I’m sure will never be finished. But I am proud to say that my mosaic topped table has been finished at last. It was a lot of work but well worth the time.

I’m also writing again which is a good thing; but this needs long periods of peace with less interruptions which are not available every day.

Mosaic Table.jpg

UK Visit 1

First flight trip back to the UK was for a special sister’s birthday and most enjoyable. A Neanderthal theme party no less, which really took us back in time! We enjoyed a catch up with old friends and family who had travelled some distance to celebrate, making it well worth the trip.  A mini break for “Betty and Barney” too.

Flintstones

Garden News

The climbing roses that were planted beside my new shed have buds just waiting to open.  Yes, the garden shed did arrive eventually and is currently having a makeover. My latest project.  Watch this space!!  Once completed my shed needs a name!  Favourite plant so far this year…….

Favourite

Visits to Bough

Over the last few months we have had a visit from an old work colleague, who drove all the way from Cork to have lunch with us.  So, well appreciated! Thanks!  Family from the UK visited to help celebrate Phil’s birthday this month of June too, which involved a day out at the beach and a bit of site seeing to nearby venues. Lovely to see them all and they enjoyed their stay at a nice cottage in Rathvilly area.  On the last day of the family visit in June, a lovely sunny day,  found us making good use of the new patio, outside cooking up a storm together!

Seaside- Courtown.jpg

Tractor Run

“Only in Ireland!!” My daughter said the other day, only in Ireland could there be a tractor run. Well as unexciting as it may seem to you all; almost every town and village have such annual events which are organised by schools, churches and charities as fund raisers. Farmers enter their vehicles, old and new tractors and pay a fee to drive the course which is mapped out around local roads. It’s a slow day if you get caught behind a tractor run!

Phil has a real soft spot for a tractor. Well as it happens the area of Bough had a tractor run advertised. On contacting the organizer I found out that the run would pass our front door one Sunday. It is quite a work day out for the farmers and the children ride along in the cabs with Dad. They are not too health and safety conscious here!!

I don’t need to tell you the rest! Luckily there was no rain…… Phil sat outside and cheered and waved to forty or fifty tractors as they passed.

Keeping it country alright!

UK Visit 2

Last week we once again did the flight across the Irish sea; this time to Essex for our granddaughters’ birthday. Essex welcomed us with brilliant sunshine and temperatures around 22 degrees.

Flight

The excitement escalated as we were for-warned that the M25 was blocked with Friday rush hour traffic. Why should that excite me? Not me, Phil.  Well that meant he could guide us along the country or more scenic route passing his old birth town and haunts from his days as a young man. He was in his element!

The party was wonderful, well organised and at a beautiful venue. Again we met up with old friends and family members.

Cheers from Phil and I until next time……

18th Cake

6 comments

  1. Jane · June 14

    Young Betty! I love reading your posts because I can actually hear you speaking the words!! You are much missed, but I am delighted you have (almost) relaxed into your new pace of life in the Emerald Isle! J x

    Liked by 1 person

  2. liz2you · June 14

    Oh Jane, I miss you all too, some much more than others!! There are days when I long for the busy office experience. What I really long for are deadlines, stuff to do that has meaning! But I am busy with a new life now with different priorities. Thanks for the chat, Jane! Betty X

    Liked by 1 person

  3. janee · June 14

    Life maybe slower now but it’s good quality. Lovely place you have now and the veiws are just right to keep my bother interested in whats going on around and about.
    Melissas party looked great, she is so stunningly beautiful, I know you are proud of her and all the other grandchildren.
    As I have already commented to you, I was so pleased that you made it to my party, some long lasting memories were made that night for each of us.
    I have the contact details for the cottage in Rathvilly for anyone wanting somewhere to stay. Mary and Tony have said it can be booked direct with them at a cheaper rate, just reference my name xx

    Liked by 1 person

  4. liz2you · June 14

    Janee thanks for your continued support and interest shown in our lives. We will always live life to the fullest the way Phil and I always have since we met. No fear we will slack off now!! X

    Like

  5. Chris and steve · June 14

    Hope u both fine . U still enjoying. Miriam next door to u died we went to her funeral. So sad. She became so unwell. We went away first time in 8 yrs. Jusy comd back mercia in spain. For my 60th. Wish u both well
    Chris and stevex

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Tammy · June 17

    Lovely memories over the past few months mom. The house is looking great too xxx

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

