A Different View

“Believe you can and you’re halfway there.” Theodore Roosevelt

home-2

It’s a Gift….

We have reached the end of the first week in our new house.  If you were a fly on the wall you would have heard a lot of …. “ I know I packed it, should be in this box, it’s somewhere, yes, everything has to be somewhere!!   After all the lists and perfect organisation that was put in place; I scratch my head sometimes at the turmoil that ensues, but it is becoming home.   And on the bright side… we can laugh. This morning I awoke and laughed out loud at a thought that came to mind. (my Mother used to do that!)

A thought about the shrewdness of the lady I answered the doorbell too last Tuesday. “Good morning, how are ye, isn’t the weather dreadful today, the rain; now I’ll only take a few minutes of yer time.” It was blowing a gale and the rain was blowing sideways, so I said,

“Well then come in.” She was as far as the entrance portal and managed to get herself between myself and the front door, however, carried on speaking without a pause.

“This is my ID and I work for *…$…%..&..^, (and a string of acronyms that meant nothing to me), it is a little survey that will only take up 5 minutes of your time, God it’s cold; now I can do it right here it won’t take long…”.

“Oh no, come inside!” I say, “excuse the mess we have only just moved in 3 days ago…..”

“Oh no!… sure I shouldn’t impose on ye then, it wouldn’t be right, but it’s only fair to ye, that everyone has a say!” She was still talking but already sitting down between Henry the hoover and the boxes before I had closed the front door in the hallway.

Now I pride myself on being able to give the door to door salesmen and Jehovah’s witness knockers a cold shoulder so what happened here! She had a gift, as well as the gift of the gab. And it seemed I had made the right decision; the short survey (that took all of 15 minutes!), was about those with disabilities and fair treatment in Ireland. And I had my say- mostly good.

bough-2

Glorious Sunshine…

Today is another day of glorious sunshine, yes, we have those too in Ireland! But we appreciate them more than some other countries. It makes up for the fact that we have no internet yet and that we are still getting used to the heating system in the house. Two of my bad temper things… don’t take my broadband and don’t take my heating away. One of my girls had a little snigger when I couldn’t see a photo that she had sent me on WhatsApp; she said, Oh, I forgot you were on ‘dial up’ now. Remember those days!

The horses in the fields at the end of our garden were out on the frost covered grass at sunrise. Two young ones frisking each other and romping about. Phil was up early too, waiting for his breakfast and watching the horses from his chair. He is much more independent now and has a new confidence moving around on his own. Now that is a positive slant on leaving Homefield! I hope his boredom doesn’t return too soon. His new interest is thinking/preparing outside area for barbeque time which we still have plenty of time for, I know, but it is great to see the positivity in him.

A New Line of Attack …

Downsizing when moving house is never easy. Getting rid of clutter often breaks off little pieces of ‘yourself’; these are thrown away with the ‘so called’ trash. It’s as hard as that for me. You would think after 28 moves I would have it down to a fine art. What didn’t come to Ireland would not be needed, until that fateful day when you have searched every cupboard saying I know I packed it only to realize you did give it away at the last minute in desperation (space issue).

Downsizing for real has been a bit of a shock. There is less space in Bough, well less space in the wrong places. We need a few new plans. A new line of attack, a little retail therapy also works…….

Phil did laugh when he saw me packing the iron… I suppose he has a point, we could have lost that one without a backward glance! One nearly new iron, anyone…?

Nostalgia…

On Wednesday I experienced an unusual pang of nostalgia. A longing that’s hard to describe, as I stood outside a closed second hand shop peering through the windows at all the antiques and ornaments. I didn’t know how much I missed the basic floor work of my job at the Hospice. The shops. I longed to get in there and sort the place out! “Open Saturdays, Sundays and Bank Holidays only” it said on the door. Sells second hand and new furniture.

Mmmm, I said to my daughter, maybe I could get a little job here….. I would love to tidy it and do the window display. Open the doors on a Wednesday for them maybe…

“It has been like that for the last 10 years, Mom, they like it that way!” says my daughter beside me.

I suppose she is right. But… it is just down the road on the corner …. and it’s Saturday today! I will be paying a visit.

doyals

One week later…………………………….

Feeling at home…

Our living area is homely and comfortable. Routines here have started to fall into place; which is good, they allow the creative mind to concentrate on other things and the confidence grows.

But I do miss Carlow, which is now 18 kms away! It was so handy to be 5 minutes away from any shop you wanted. So…with that I give the game away, am a city girl really. But Rathvilly isn’t ‘down on the farm’, we have the best of both worlds.

 

Rathvilly is small village (definitely not a one horse town) with one general grocery shop, a post office, two take always, a few churches, hairdresser, betting shop and a grave yard etc. Everything closed last Friday for three hours for the funeral of a well known gentleman from the town. For banking you need to go 10 kms to Tullow, which has all the named shops like Tesco, Aldi and Supervalue and other smaller interesting shops. In the opposite direction the road snakes to Baltinglass, with farm lands and a beautiful mountain backdrop to your right.

rathvilly

We have also had a “getting to know your country” trip out, when Phil becomes the silent satnav and I get lost! He loves the farmlands and the scenery.

Nostalgia-2

I did pay a visit across the road and down a bit, without Phil, as walkways in the shop are too cluttered.…. It is apparent, that the lady is firmly attached for life! and so is half the furniture, the dust and the clutter; most of which I think would only sell if moved around and displayed. Another thing that I noticed is that her prices are very high. There is a constant flow of regulars who all seem to be on first name status. I was however greeted and welcomed to the area.

In fact my sister found out yesterday that the proprietor has owned the shop for 21 years.

Nostalgia – 3

Paid a third visit and wow our lady had her little man polishing! A sure sign it was a quiet day for business, as one of my past shop managers said, there is nothing like the smell of furniture polish to make them buy!  She was right behind me all the time I browsed and during conversation I pointed to something that I found attractive.

Sure enough before I had left, it was outside on the forecourt to attract buyers! I still have the gift!

Silly thought…..I might volunteer to do her windows if I get to know her better one day…… Shhh

shop-door

5 comments

  1. Malcolm · February 12

    Glad you are settled in.
    Hi Phil !

    Sounds like you should offer your services

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Janee · February 12

    So pleased that you are settling in and finding your feet. The shop sounds interesting, I’m sure you’ll manage to find a way to assist the lady. Glad that Phil is improving and finding interest in your new surrounding’s. I’m sure he’ll take great interest in the horses ad wildlife. I think we’re staying at baltinglass when we come over, sounds like there’s plenty t explore, hope you get on the net soon. Speak soon, love to you both xx

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Bonny · February 12

    Thanks for the news. Looks like a lovely little house. The shop looks cute. Before I read your last paragraph I was thinking just that – offer to do window displays for her every other week. Keeps your mind on something new and isn’t stressful if you are just helping out. Hope to visit soon xxx

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Tammy · February 12

    Lovely to see you both settling in well- we are looking forward to seeing the pad.
    You will get used to small town living I’m sure – your Londoner skills will keep the overly enthusiastics at bay 😆

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Chris and steve · February 13

    Glad u have settled in. Loved the name homefields. You will make yr own stamp on it especially weather soon changing.
    Keep well
    Chris and steve

    Like

Leave a Reply

